Your Commercial Driver License (CDL)

A Michigan CDL is a commercial license to operate vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating of 26,001 pounds or more, 16 or more passengers or any hazardous material. If you have a CDL and get convicted of a drunk driving case in Michigan or driving a commercial vehicle with a BAC .04% to .08%, you will lose your CDL for 1 year. Losing a CDL may mean losing your job and inability to support your family. However, you will be able to drive according to your operator's license subject to the suspensions and restrictions associated with a conviction for OWI or Impaired Driving.

For example, an OWI conviction would suspend a CDL for 1 year, yet an operator's license sanction would result in a 180 day suspension with no driving for the first 30 days followed by a 150 day period of restricted driving. Upon a conviction of OWVI (impaired driving) the operator's license is suspended for 90 days with restricted driving privileges during the entire period.

The complete Michigan CDL Manual can be found here.

Do not hesitate to contact our firm if you have a CDL and are charged with a drinking and driving offense anywhere in Macomb or Oakland County including Clinton Township, Sterling Heights, Warren, Royal Oak or Troy. We know that your livelihood is at stake and we will aggressively defend your case.

Next page >> Michigan’s Super Drunk Driving Law